Community Service Award

Hower House Community Service Awards

2016 Award Winners & Nominators:

Robert Dill (Progress Through Preservation)
Barbara Freeman (Memorials of Angels)
Gloria Poole (Mature Services)
Don Sendelbach (Akron Zoo)
Leroy Strawn (Good Neighbors Food Center)
Steven Williams (Cleveland Clinic/Akron General Hospital)

2014 Award Winners & Nominators:

Barbara Beiling
George Camiletti
Robert Freitag
Jean Copping Foust
Marilyn Lown
Jim Urban

2012 Award Winners & Nominators:

Pat Absalom (Victorians and Friends of Hower House)
Diana Gayer (Greater Akron Musical Association)
Sally Oneacre (Stewart’s Caring Place)
Eloise Sheaves (Akron Civic Theatre, Lock 3, and First Night)
Elsie M. Teets (Family & Community Services, Inc.)
Melinda Whitehead (Dominion and Dominion Foundation)

 2010 Award Winners & Nominators:

Joan Colbert (Akron Area Arts Alliance)
Patti Oseland (WITAN)
Dr. Valerie Riedthaler (Summit County Board of Education)
Sheryl Zastawnik (Warm-Up Akron)

2009 Award Winners & Nominators:

Doris Calhoun
(Gentiva Home Care)
Mary Ann Freedman (Victims’ Assistance Program)
Donald McCardle (AAAA, Ronald McDonald House, Children’s Hospital)
Vernona VanderKooi (Weathervane Playhouse)

2008 Award Winners & Nominators:

Jean-Anne Belfonti (Coach House Theatre)
C. Gordon Ewers (Akron Art Museum)
Heather Jalbert (WITAN)
Bob & Wanda Vigar (Hospice of VNS)
Virginia Wojno-Forney (Cascade Locks – Metro Parks of Summit County)